Local Logan Wins Wintertime Am Side

Logan Turner started off hot on Saturday and made it interesting in Sunday’s final 9, but held on to squeak out a one-stroke win in the 34th Annual Wintertime Open – Am side.  The Pasadena resident finished with a total of 217 after three full rounds and a final 9, which was two throws better than the 219 he scored in 2011.  That 219 was good enough for second place last year, and would have got him the same finishing spot this year, but one year and two shots made the difference between first and second place. His first round score of 57 was good enough for the first round lead over John Ryan and Chuck Powell at 60, and turned out to be the only sub-60 score of the first day. A second-round 64 was good enough for Logan to hold onto a 3-throw overnight lead over Patrick Paramore. 

Sunday morning’s round saw no change in the lead, but several players who had stumbled on Saturday stepped up with sub-60 rounds.  Nick Newton’s hot round of 58 pulled him into a four-way tie for 3rd place with Chris Traven, Noah Politzer (who had 59’s) and Paramore, one shot behind 2nd place A.J. Risley, who also had a 59.  It looked like Logan would cruise to victory, with a five shot lead over A.J. and six over the rest.  That was until Chris fired a blistering 29 in the final nine, almost catching Logan for the win. Turner’s 217 total was one better than Traven and three better than Newton in 3rd place, who had hop-scotched Risley in 4th.  An exciting finish for sure!

Phikounthong Scoggins cruised to a 34 shot win in Advanced Women – ’nuff said.  Roger Snider became the newest Advanced Master winner, as the newly-minted MM1 engineered a 187 total, good enough for a 10-shot win over Osha Mishan.  Ice Bowl MM1 champ Anthony Bassett was another 6 shots back.  Helen Wilson was unopposed in her Women’s Advanced Masters win, while John Babin broke out of an overnight tie with Gary Abraham by shooting 63 in Sunday’s round, good enough for the Advanced Grandmaster win.

Matthew Hutchings was one of two players in the 24-player intermediate field to throw three rounds in the 60’s.  He was also the only MA2 player to finish under 200, with a final score of 198.  That was good enough for a four shot win over the other player with three sub-70 rounds, Brandon Bies.  Matthew Garber and Mario Martinez finished in a tie for the top score in MA3 (216), three better than Chad Nichter and Troy Coffin.  Garber won the playoff, and the 1st place title.

This weekend the Pros take over Oak Grove.  As of this posting the field was not full, but with competitors like 2011 SoCal Points Champ Steve Rico, Paul McBeth and Philo Braithwaite already signed up, you know there will be good golf on display.  There’s been a few local Avery Jenkins sightings on Twitter and Foursquare, so who knows?  He may show up too.  But take a scroll down the registration list and you see quite a few 3-digit PDGA numbers, as well as two two-digits and one single-digit.  If you want to see some of disc golf’s history-makers strut their stuff, make it out to Oak Grove this weekend.

Full W.O. Am results at PDGA.com

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s